

TELEPHONE NOS. (033) 336-8151 (033) 337-1739 TELEFAX NO. (033) 337-4230 E-MAIL art_defensor@yahoo.com ardefensorjr@gmail.com



EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 231

AN ORDER CREATING AND ORGANIZING THE ILOILO PROVINCIAL INNOVATION COUNCIL, TO PURSUE THE INNOVATE ILOILO MOVEMENT, AND TO FORMULATE AND IMPLEMENT THE ILOILO INNOVATION ROADMAP, APPOINTING MEMBERS THEREOF, SPECIFYING ITS DUTIES AND FUNCTIONS AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

WHEREAS, innovation is the prime mover of socio economic growth and it can propel the development of lloilo in terms of the economy, governance & delivery of services provided that initiatives are collective, synergistic & multi-dimensional;

WHEREAS, the recent passage of the Innovative Start Up Law (RA11337) and the Philippine Innovation Act (RA11293) emphasizes the critical role of technology in sustainable development especially with the emergence of disruptive technologies, and signals the timely opportunity to pursue an innovation agenda in Iloilo;

WHEREAS, the INNNOVATE ILOILO movement envisions the Province and City of Iloilo as a premier innovation hub in the Philippines by 2030;

WHEREAS, this vision will be attained with the formulation of the ILOILO INNOVATION ROADMAP aimed to unify & align initiatives, projects, programs and activities of various stakeholders to build a strong innovation ecosystem in Iloilo;

WHEREAS, the innovation agenda highlights the capacity & capability of Iloilo in terms of Research & Development facilities, human resources, technical support and network which can spur creation of new products and services, and attract investment opportunities;

WHEREAS, this innovation agenda is in line with and supports the thrust of the Province of Iloilo on inclusive economic development, job creation and poverty alleviation.

NOW THEREFORE, I, ARTHUR DEFENSOR JR., Governor of the Province of Iloilo, by the powers vested in me by law, do hereby create and organize the Iloilo Provincial Innovation Council with the following stipulations:

- Hon. Jason Gonzales Chair, Science & Technology/Economic Affairs & Investment Committee, Sangguniang Panlalawigan ng Iloilo
- Dir. RoAnn Bacal, CESO III Regional Director, National Economic & Development Authority VI

1.3. SECRETARIAT

- Ms. Fiebe Marie P. Granada Provincial LEDIP Center
- Engr. Sheila L. Oberio DOST Iloilo Provincial Science and Technology Center
- Ms. Ma. Lea Victoria E. Lara Iloilo Business Club, Inc.

SECTION 2. DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE SECTORAL CORE GROUP

- Conduct coordination meetings and data gathering for the drafting and enactment of the Iloilo Innovation Roadmap 2030
- Based on the aforesaid roadmap, prepare and submit recommendations for a draft Roadmap Implementation Plan for the Iloilo Provincial Government within the second quarter of 2020 for the approval of the Local Chief Executive and the Sangguniang Panlalawigan.

SECTION 3. DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE SECRETARIAT

The Secretariat shall provide administrative and technical support services, to wit:

- 1. Record and document all the proceedings of the meetings;
- Manage all administrative requisites of the Executive Committee and the Sectoral Core Group;
- Index and keep all records used and referenced by the Executive Committee and the Sectoral Core Group; and
- 4. Perform all other functions as may be deemed necessary.

SECTION 4. EFFECTIVITY

The Iloilo Provincial Innovation Council shall exercise their duties and functions effective immediately.

Done this _____ day of ____OCT 3 0 2019 _____, 2019 in the City of Iloilo, Philippines.

ARTHUR IT. DEFENSOR, JR.

Governor

SECTION 1. COMPOSITION

The Iloilo Provincial Innovation Council shall be composed of the following:

1.1. EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. The Executive Committee shall be composed of the following:

Chair: HON. ARTHUR R. DEFENSOR, JR.

Governor, Province of Iloilo

Co Chair: HON. JERRY P. TRENAS

Mayor, City of Iloilo

Co Chair (Private Sector): MR. FRANCIS GENTORAL

Executive Director, Iloilo Economic Development Foundation, Inc.

Vice Chair (Gov't): ENGR. ROWEN GELONGA, CESO II

Regional Director, DOST VI

Vice Chair (Industry): MR. JESSRAF PALMARES

President, Iloilo Federation for Information Technology

Vice Chair (Academe): MS. MA. LUISA SEGOVIA

President, Iloilo Gov't-Industry-Academe Council, Inc.

1.2. SECTORAL CORE GROUP

1.2.1. Smart Cities & Communities

- · Mr. Mario Nillos Provincial Planning & Development Office
- Ms. Velma Jane Lao Provincial LEDIP Center
- Mr. Jerry Bionat Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office
- Engr. Gracianito Lucero Provincial Engineers Office
- Dr. Ildefonso Toledo Provincial Agriculturist Office
- Ms. Salvacion Sibonga ICTMO
- Hon. Rosario Mediatrix Fernandez President, League of Municipal Mayors

1.2.2. Start Up Ecosystem

- Ms. Noreen Bautista Start Up Founder's Circle
- . Ms. Hera Barrameda Start Up Founder's Circle
- Mr. Joeven Tansi Executive Director, Iloilo Federation for IT
- Mr. Rayjand Gellamucho Curator, Global Shapers Iloilo Hub
- Dir. Mario Cunado Regional Director, Dept. of Information & Communications Technology VI
- Dir. Rebecca Rascon Regional Director, Department of Trade and Industry VI
- Mr. Jigger Latoza Future Smart
- · TBIs / ITSO

1.2.3. Innovation Driven Industries

a. Manufacturing

- Ms. Ermelinda Pollentes, ARD, Department of Trade and Industry Iloilo
- o Mr. Juan Jose Jamora III Trustee, Iloilo Business Club, Inc.

b. Tourism

- Atty. Helen Catalbas Department of Tourism VI
- Atty. Jobert Penaflorida Phil. Chamber of Commerce and Industry Iloilo Chapter

c. ICT-BPM

- Mr. Mario Cunado Regional Director, Dept. of Information & Communications Technology VI
- Mr. Jessraf Palmares President, Iloilo Federation for Information Technology

d. Agribusiness

- Engr. Remelyn Recoter Regional Director, Department of Agriculture VI
- Mr. Buen Mondejar President, Panay Organic Producers Organization

1.2.4. Globally Competitive Academic Institutions

- Dr. Ricardo Babaran Chancellor, University of the Philippines Visavas
- Dr. Raul Muyong President, Iloilo Science and Technology University
- Dr. Teodoro Robles President, Central Philippine University
- Rev. Fr. Frederick Commendador President, University of San Agustin
- Mr. Eduardo Arevalo Chief Operating Officer, University of Iloilo-PHINMA
- Dr. Luis Sorrolla President, West Visayas State University
- Dr. Maura Consolacion D. Cristobal, CESO III Regional Director, Commission on Higher Education VI
- Dir. Ashray Banto Regional Director, Technical Education and Skills Development Authority VI
- Dr. Clarissa Zamora, CESO VI Superintendent, DEP Ed Division of Iloilo City

1.2.5. Internationally Recognized Research & Development Centers

- The Southeast Asian Fisheries Development Center (SEAFDEC)
- Western Visayas Agriculture Aquatic and Resources Research and Development Consortium (WESVARDEC)
- Western Visayas Agriculture and Research Consortium (WESVIARC)
- Western Visayas Consortium for Industry and Energy Research and Development (WVCIERD)
- Western Visayas Health Research and Development Consortium (WVHRDC)
- Intellectual Property Office Iloilo

1.2.6. Innovation Centric Policies

· Hon. Christine Garin - Vice Governor, Province of Iloilo